Jazz Artist/Saxophonist/Band Leader/Producer/Educator

Toronto - based saxophonist, composer, producer, band leader, and educator Scott Marshall is highly sought after for his skills within the jazz community, and professional jobbing scenes of his city.

 A skilled composer and arranger, Scott’s compositions have been featured on five of his own releases: Dream Logic Project (2018) Nihahi Ridge (2014), Vignettes (2010), Nine Moments of Time (2007), and Face it (2002), as well as two releases by the group Out of Order: What Now (2000), and Out of Order (1997). Scott’s compositions have also been featured in the feature length movie The  Anniversary by Canadian film maker Valarie Buhagiar, and the short film The Loss by Consistent C Films. 

 Scott is a skilled producer. As well as producing his own five releases, Scott produced and arranged all the music for the highly successful twenty five show concert series  Marshall at the Monarch (2013 - 2015), which featured many great Toronto jazz musicians like: Dave Young, David Braid, Kevin Turcotte, Mike Murley, David Restivo, Adrean Farugia, Rich Brown, Mike Downs, Jim Vivian, and Terry Clarke  to name a few. Scott also co-produced and arranged all the music for Lyne Tremblay’s critically acclaimed release Break and Enter (2003) and served as Lyne’s music director for several years. Scott also co produced two shows with writer, producer, actor John Evans: The Deco Show (2004), and The Beat Generation (2014).

 Scott’s abilities on the saxophone, featured on his own recordings, have also found him appearing as a guest soloist on several releases including: Lyne Tremblay’s critically acclaimed release Break and Enter (2003), Bill Stevenson’s ECMA award winning recording For the Record (2006), Tom Leighton’s Leighton Tendencies (2010), Tom Swift’s release The Fortunate Few (2013), and NOJO’S critically acclaimed release NOJO Explores the Dark Side (2010). In addition to recording Scott has performed with a lengthy and diverse list of accomplished musicians including: Norah Jones, Johnny Mathus, The Temptations, The Four Tops, Bobby Caldwell, Russel de Carle, The Shuffle Demons, Denzel Sinclaire, The Kitchener Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Manteca, Pretzel Logic,  Shadmehr Aghilli, Hot Toddy, Bill Stevenson, Lyne Tremblay, Out of Order, and the Juno-winning big-band NOJO.

 Scott Marshall and the Jazztice League  is Scott’s newest ensemble. Comprised of players he has worked with over the years that he found exciting and inspiring to play with.

“I wanted to put a dream band together”

 …and what a dream band it is, joining Scott, who plays tenor sax on this outing, is an elite group of Canadian jazz masters. Featuring Juno Award winner Mike Rud on Guitar (Herb Ellis, Kenny Wheeler), David Restivo on piano (Boss Brass, Marc Jorden), Nick Fraser on drums (Tony Malaby, Michael Moore), and legendary bassist and Juno Award winner Dave Young (Oscar Peterson, Lenny Breau).  The Jazztice League are releasing their first recording  Dream Logic Project in fall 2018!

 The Scott Marshall Quartet was formed in Toronto in 2005. In the ensuing years the quartet through regular gigs at street festivals, jazz festivals, jazz clubs, and private cocktail events has slowly built up a loyal following, and prompted Dave Milborne of the Toronto Jazz Magazine to write:

 “ Catch the Scott Marshall Quartet when you can, you won’t be disappointed!” 

 A must see of the Toronto jazz scene, the group has also toured coast to coast in Canada and become household names on the jazz programming of 91.1 Jazz FM and the CBC!  A who’s who of Canadian jazz scene have played with Marshall’s quartet over the years, and famed trumpet legend Wynton Marsalis has even stopped by to sit in with the band! The Scott Marshall Quartet is: Scott Marshall on saxophones, Wes Neal on acoustic bass, Marcel Aucoin on piano. Nick Fraser on drums. The group has three releases: Nihahi Ridge (2014), Vignettes (2010), Nine Moments of Time (2007).

 The Scott Marshall Trio was formed in 1999 and has been performing together ever since. Joining Scott are Wes Neal on bass and Marcel Aucoin on piano. Together they have performed on concert stages, played in bars, performed in living rooms, and performed at hundreds of weddings and other social occasions. They served as Lyne Trembley’s back up trio for several years, and recently performed at an event featuring guest speaker former president Bill Clinton. The trio released Face It in 2002.



Tom Leighton Better Leighton than Never 2021

Scott Marshall and the Jazztice league  Dream Logic Project 2018

The Scott Marshall Quartet  Nihahi Ridge 2014

Tom Swift The Fortunate Few 2013

The Scott Marshall Quartet Vignettes 2010

NOJO NOJO Explores the Dark Side 2010

Tom Leighton Leighton Tendencies 2010

The Scott Marshall Quartet  Nine Moments of Time 2007

Bill Stevenson For the Record 2006

Whitney Smith Big Steam Band Life Drawing 2004

Lyne Tremblay’s Break and Enter 2003

Scott Marshall Trio Face It 2002

Out of Order What Now 2000

Pat RobertsMy Promise 1999

UNT Repertory Ensemble Dallas Doings 1999

UNT 2 O clock Band Tribute to Benny Carter 1999

UNT Jazz Singers Yesterdays 1999

Out of Order Out of Order 1999



Scott has had a lengthy and diverse career as a music educator. Since 1999 he has been instructing band classes with the Toronto District School Board. He is the Director of Bands for The Oscar Peterson School of Music at The Royal Conservatory of Music.  He is a member of the Jazz Faculty at the Inter Provincial Music Camps (IMC). He has instructed masterclasses at St Francis Xavier University, The University of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia Community College, Toronto District School Board’s Music Department, as well as numerous high schools across the country. At the University of North Texas Scott directed the Six O’Clock Lab Band, instructed a saxophone studio, and lectured in jazz history and jazz analysis. Scott has also taught at several music camps over the years including: Toronto Music Camp, Music By the Lake, RCM Music Camp, University of New Brunswick Music Camp, IMC, and Bobcaygeon Music Camp.