Scott Douglas Marshall


Scott Marshall and the Jazztice League "Dream Logic Project" - CD

On October 23rd and 24th Scott Marshall and the Jazztice League will be celebrating the release of their exceptional new recording “Dream Logic Project” (SMT Muisc) at The Rex Hotel and Jazz Bar in Toronto. 

All About  gives four out of five stars to this lovely new album from Canadian composer and saxophonist Scott Marshall.The release is Scott’s fifth release of original music under his own label SMT Music. The Jazztice League is a brand new ensemble Scott specifically assembled for this project. Comprised of players he has worked with over the years that he found exciting and inspiring to play with.

“I wanted to put a dream band together!”

…and what a dream band it is! Joining Scott, who played tenor sax on this outing, is an elite group of Canadian jazz masters. Featuring Juno Award winner Mike Rud on Guitar (Herb Ellis, Kenny Wheeler), David Restivo on piano (Boss Brass, Marc Jorden), Nick Fraser on drums (Tony Malaby, Michael Moore), and legendary bassist and Juno Award winner Dave Young (Oscar Peterson, Lenny Breau).

Scott’s compositions pay homage to tradition and yet are full of surprises. The eight compositions on “Dream Logic Project” were composed specifically for this ensemble with each taking the listener on a different journey Moody strait eight funk, strait up swing, latin swing, soulful soul jam, driving three feel, and a beautiful final statement. Marshall’s compositions pay homage to tradition and yet are full of surprises. Masterfully recorded by Jeremy Darby at Canterbury studio this recording has the sound and feel of a live performance with each musician getting a chance to shine, and shine they do!

Nihahi Ridge

he fourth recording by Toronto based saxophonist and composer Scott Marshall.

Nihahi Ridge features ten Marshall originals performed by The Scott Marshall Quartet.

Each song stands alone as its own individual thought. Showcasing the talents of the 

musicians whom interpret Marshall’s writing effortlessly, ebbing and flowing as only an ensemble 

that has been together a long time can. Nihahi Ridge also works as a long form album. Flowing beautifully through bright intense swing tunes, funky soulful songs, longing sentimental ballads, moody 

atmospheres, and a traditional scottish melody. One thing is for certain, Nihahi Ridge has a solid and subtle groove from beginning to end!

Scott Marshall Quartet "Vignettes" - CD

“Vignettes” is the third release by Toronto composer and saxophonist Scott Marshall. Recorded masterfully by Jim Morgan at Acrobat Music and performed by the critically acclaimed Scott Marshall Quartet. “Vignettes” features twelve compositions by Scott Marshall and two by pianist Marcel Aucoin. Every composition is a different story or “Vignette” each taking the listener on a different journey, full of beautiful melodies, rich harmony, inspiring solos, sensual rhythms, and astute ensemble playing! Featuring Scott Marshall on flute, soprano and tenor saxophones, Marcel Aucoin on a Steinway grand piano Wes Neal on acoustic bass, and Nick Fraser on drums. “Vignettes” is a wonderful recording for both the ardent jazz fan and the casual listener!

Scott Marshall Quartet "Nine Moments of Time"

This thrilling new release by SMTRecords and produced by Scott Marshall is nine beatiful original compositions by Scott (and one by Marcel) performed by the outstanding Scott Marshall Quartet, featuring Scott on soprano and tenor saxophones, Wes Neal on accoustic bass, Marcel Aucoin on a Boston Steinway grand piano, and Nick Fraser on drums and percussion. Recorded masterfully by Jim Morgan at Acrobat Music. This cd is a wonderful listen for not only the ardent jazz fans but the casual listiner, full of sensual gooves, beatiful melodies, and astute improvisations! A wonderful buy!!

Scott Marshall Trio "FACE IT"

This recording featuring Scott on saxophones Wes Neal on Accoustic Bass, and Marcel Acoin on Boston Steinway Piano was masterfully recorded by Jim Morgan at Acrobat Music. Face It is a nine song exploration of the drummerless jazz trio. Four of the songs are classic jazz standards, and five of the songs are original compositions. This cd has been described as smooth, rich, and lush, and many are suprised by how full the recording sounds.The musicians take the listener through a sophisticated musical adventure as they demonstrate their comfort with a wide ranging repetoire and swinging grooves. avilable at or check link on this site